about menu

Jon Eftink (January 2014 - August 2014)

Name: Jon Eftink

School: Missouri University of Science and Technology

Major: Computer Engineering

Co-op period: January 2014 – August 2014

Current school/company and what you do:
I am a Computer Engineering student at Missouri S&T and will have three semesters left
after my Co-op at Hunter.

Current Location:
I’ll be back in Rolla a week after my co-op is over.

What was the interview process like?

I submitted a resume at the career fair and got a call from Pat Hutsler about a week or
two later asking me to do an interview at Hunter, in Bridgeton. During the interview I
talked to Pat a little, met Dave and talked to him about what the coop would be like, and
took an aptitude test.

What did you do?
I did a lot of programming, mainly in C++, but I also got the opportunity to learn C#. I
worked on a variety of small projects that included everything from databases to
automated testing. For my big project, I worked on a machine vision project that was
research for a potential feature in WinAlign.

Would you do it again?
I would definitely do this again.

What did you like?
I enjoyed being able to work on one project and see it grow. When I started my big
project I was testing the capabilities of a particular library. Then I started wrapping it up
with my own code, and by the end had a project that was over 7,000 lines of code and
knowledge of a variety of tools and software packages.

What did you not like?
A couple times I had to help with some testing which quickly became very dull. I was
able to work with a couple other coops to finish it up pretty quickly so it wasn't too bad.

Did you learn anything?
I learned a lot of things that you aren't taught in a classroom that I am sure will be very
applicable at any job. I also got the opportunity to work with a variety of projects that
gave me a good perspective on various programming methods.

Did the experience help you in your career?
This experience will definitely help me in my career. I will definitely have a lot to talk
about in any interview and I have the confidence that after I graduate I will be able to do

Did it help you in any job interviews?
I have not yet returned to school, but I am sure it will.

What was the dress code?
The dress code is business casual. I wore khakis and polos with nice shoes.

Was the work more individual or group work and how does it compare with what
you are doing today?

I did mostly individual work until the summer. At that point another coop was put on my
project so that he could continue it when I was gone.

What are the pros/cons of working in Saint Louis? (Maybe compare it to where you
are now)

I would say the biggest con was the traffic. I had to drive several miles of interstate every
day, so that was definitely a pain. As far as pros, there is a lot to do in St. Louis,
especially on the weekends.

What were your living arrangements during co-op?
I lived in an apartment in Bellefontaine Heights called Oak Park. It was fairly cheap, but I
would definitely live somewhere else next time because it was not a good neighborhood.

How was the supervision?
Dave is a very good boss. He just gave me a project and basically just said run with it. He
has an open door policy, so if I needed help he was always available. If he couldn't help
directly he would point me to another person or a book.

Anything else you'd like to tell us about yourself?
I have learned quite a bit that I will be able to use in interviews and in my day-to-day
work. I think this experience was worth graduating a semester later.